Enberg named Frick Award winner

Cooperstown, NY (SportsNetwork.com) – Dick Enberg, who has carved out a
broadcasting career lasting for more than five decades, has been selected as
the 2015 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for
major contributions to baseball broadcasting.

“Dick Enberg’s unmistakable voice and remarkable enthusiasm for the National
Pastime during the Living Room Era as voice of the California Angels from
1968-78 propelled his broadcast career in to the national limelight, as his
baseball foundation became a launching pad for other sports and national
assignments,” said Jeff Idelson, president of the National Baseball Hall of
Fame and Museum.

“In the years since, his assignments with NBC Sports and now the San Diego
Padres, his passion for the games — and for the fans who follow them through
his friendly-and-ardent style — have made him one of sport’s most
recognizable voices.”

Enberg, a native of Michigan and product of Central Michigan and Indiana
University, began his career as an undergraduate at CMU. During his time with
the Angels, he also broadcast Los Angeles Rams and UCLA men’s baseball up
until joining NBC Sports in 1975. Once there, Enberg drew praise for his
coverage of Wimbledon as much as his baseball acumen.

After a 10-year stint with CBS Sports beginning in 2000, Enberg returned to
the day-to-day grind of the majors with San Diego for the 2010 season — a
position in which he remains currently.

Other finalists included: Richie Ashburn, Billy Berroa, Rene Cardenas, Dizzy
Dean, Ernie Johnson Sr., Ralph Kiner, Ned Martin, Joe Nuxhall and Jack

Previous winners of the Frick Award include legendary names such as Mel Allen,
Red Barber, Russ Hodges, Ernie Harwell, Vin Scully, Jack Buck, Lindsey Nelson,
Harry Caray, Dave Niehaus, Harry Kalas, Bob Uecker, Tony Kubek, Jon Miller and
Tim McCarver.

Eric Nadel of the Texas Rangers was honored last year.